Week 8 – DPWotY

So week eight of the outline given by Rev Dangler is all about meditation, my plan has been to try many different forms of meditation throughout the DP so I will have a broader understanding of the forms and later I can settle on a preferred type or types.

So for the first session I used a guided meditation, using the structure that the grove I attend does. I really enjoy the visualisation of this form, becoming a tree essentially, growing roots out into the ground and branches up into the sky, connecting with everything around you. It is very peaceful.

So something I’ve found so far with meditation is that breathing is important, long deep breaths seem to work best for getting into the ‘zone’ so to speak.

There is something so peaceful about the sensations while meditating, the animals around you, the feel of the air on your skin, the sounds of the trees whispering, their leaves rustling against each other gently, the feel of the earth beneath you.

Rev. Dangler suggests making note of what animals appear around you and what you sense during these meditations. Not surprisingly ravens (I follow a Heathen path) were involved in my first meditation, I had stopped by the oldest oak in the oak gully I like to visit and I could hear them nearby as I meditated, and sure enough when I opened my eyes there they were, three ravens perched on a lower hanging branch watching me curiously.

Anyway that is enough for this post, I have a lot more coming as I catch up on my blogging for the DP.

Leave a Reply

