Week Two – DPWotY

Ok so clearly it hasn’t been a week since I did the last entry, I’m squishing the first few lessons together into the space of a few days because one of the High Days is pretty much here, Beltane or for those following the Norse perspective Walpurgisnacht. I’ve actually already had one Beltane this year, last weekend at the oldest free neo-pagan gathering in the world. However it was before I became a member of ADF so I view it as cheating to use that. As such I’m attending my local groves* Beltane celebration this weekend.

* By local I mean a good two hours drive away, I’m fortunate to live that close to the only ADF Grove in Australia at present.

So week two’s lesson asked for us to make an oath, the First Oath. I’m choosing not to do this at this time for a variety of reasons that all basically add up to – I’m not ready yet. If I’d started this path of study a decade earlier I would have done so without thought, nowadays though I take such actions much more seriously and I never make a promise I don’t intend to keep.

This doesn’t mean I won’t make the oath but I want to get further down the path first, I cannot say with any accuracy exactly how far down I need to be before I’m happy to do it but I think much like joining ADF I’ll know it is time and then I’ll make appropriate preparations and perform it.

So I’ve been looking at the prescribed reading lists to ascertain what books I want to look at from each category so I can start working towards acquiring copies of them. The first book I’m looking for is A History of Pagan Europe by Prudence Jones. So far the cheapest I’ve been able to find it for is $35, the Australia tax hits again. After that I will be looking at The Saga of the Volsungs: The Norse Epic of Sigurd the Dragon Slayer by Jesse L Byock and, Gods and Myths of Northern Europe by H.R Ellis-Davidson. For the final category I will look at Drawing Down the Moon: Witches, Druids, Goddess-Worshippers, and Other Pagans in America Today by Margot Adler. Finally, I also want to look at Deep Ancestors: Practicing the Religion of the Proto-Indo-Europeans by Ceisiwr Serith.

Just a touch of reading to do. 😉

Leave a Reply

